The Loudmouth Protestant

March 14, 2009

A Fast Turn Around

Filed under: bible,God — nickisym @ 2:38 am
Tags: , , , ,

“This is the kind of fast day I am after:
to break the chains of injustice,
get rid of exploitation in the workplace,
free the oppressed,
cancel debts.

What I’m interested in seeing you do is:
sharing you food with the hungry,
inviting the homeless poor into your homes,
putting clothes on the shivering ill-clad,
being available to your own families.
Do this and the lights will turn on,
and your lives will turn around at once.”
Isaiah 58:6-8 (The Message)

Friday evening, after rubbing sticks together for the last few weeks trying to create a spark that seemingly kept getting blown out, a spark was started and I started to warm. Ironically I started to warm only after the fire was blown out by my adversary. This adversary was with me at the Madison Square Garden as I was in the skybox at the Big East game with a dear friend. If you’ve been in a skybox you know the wealth of food and drink available and thus the mind was willing but the flesh was weak when I saw a table full of goodies from chicken fingers and hot dogs to balsamic chicken sandwiches and waffle fries. So, I had my fill of those things and in the midst of filling myself, my tummy started to trouble me. Yes God, I felt it. I popped two Aleve and kept it moving. The pain barely subsided but I managed to buffet it with some water, good conversation, and a good game. (Side note: Can I just say that I actually like basketball now and this is not just the skybox talking?)

Nevertheless, it soon came time for me to depart from my wondrous box in the sky, but as I put on my coat I spotted a tray of delectable desserts. Brownies and chocolate chip bars. I looked once, looked twice, and then my friend leaned over to tell me she took one for the road as she was getting on a train back to D.C. So, I followed suit and wrapped a chocolate cookie bar up in a napkin and placed it in my bag. I knew I shouldn’t have taken it. I was tempted to eat it on contact but I decided against it figuring I would fight the battle with it on the train. As I saw my friend off to the Amtrak station and began to walk toward my own train, I noticed an older black man in a wheelchair wearing soiled clothes and carrying a soiled cup. He was begging for money. He stopped right in front of the Halal cart looking at the man, desperately hoping for just one peace of the righteously killed chicken, but the man ignored him. I thought twice before continuing to walk to my train because I realized I had something in my bag of which he could partake. My first thought was to not give it to him–not because I wanted to eat it, but because I didn’t figure it healthy. But then I realized, “Who am I to withhold this from him? This could taste like the chicken he was looking for.” So I walked up to him, reached into my bag and asked him if he would like my cookie bar. I felt like I was unwrapping an awesome gift because his eyes brightened. He gently reached for the ensconced cookie bar and told me thank you. I told him, “You’re welcome” and I walked to my train.

As I walked away from him, I had this amazing rush come over me. I felt warm and full. I felt like the sticks I had been rubbing together finally created a flame and it was at that moment I realized that despite my missteps in the previous hours that I had just had the kind of fast moment God desires us to have. I saw the light turn on and my life was turned around at once.

 

1 Comment »

  1. …or if you had an apple, he REALLY would have benefitted! Just kidding! Lol. No, on a more serious tip, it is amazing how God still requires of us to be in His will…even when we step out. Closely related, God requires us to still do His works even when a lil more work needs to be had in our lives.

    God could have just worked on you that day…but instead he doubled the impact and worked on another soul as well!

    See God!

    Comment by missify — March 16, 2009 @ 11:43 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

