The Loudmouth Protestant

March 23, 2009

Have You Really Forgiven?

Filed under: books,God,spirituality — nickisym @ 6:27 pm
Tags: , ,

It is currently Women’s Season at my church and as such all of the women in the church–or most of them–are reading the book, “Having a Mary Spirit: Allowing God to Change Us from the Inside Out” by Joanna Weaver. Weaver walks women through the pitfalls that keep us from walking a straight path with God such as our battle with our flesh, our inability to surrender to God, the battlefield of our minds and in the most recent chapter that I read, bitterness.

It’s hard to admit that you have been holding a grudge and harboring bitterness about the big blowouts and the small missteps that have passed. But somehow all of them take root in us and just when we think we have forgiven and forgotten it is revealed to us that we’ve not even broke ground on the situation or ourselves yet. That’s what happened to me while reading the chapter on bitterness. One simple phrase uprooted me and made me take a second look at whether the people who I called myself forgiving have really been forgiven.

Weaver referred to this quote by Karyl Huntley:

“How I know I have forgiven someone, is that he or she has harmless passage in my mind.”

Weaver then went on to say,

“True forgiveness provides harmless passage. No accusing arrows. No passive attempts at revenge. The person’s name is safe on my tongue–and I’m kept safe from the poison of my own resentment.”

Does every person who has committed an offense against you have harmless passage in your mind? Think on that…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

