The Loudmouth Protestant

March 26, 2009

The Exceeding Greatness of His Power

Filed under: bible,christianity,God,Jesus,spirituality — nickisym @ 12:27 pm
Tags: ,

Don’t you love those moments, while reading the scripture, when you can actually feel your heart being flooded with light and the eyes of your understanding being opened? I had such a moment this morning. Well, it started very early this morning when I woke up in the midst of my sleep and all that was on my mind was, “The exceeding greatness of His power.” It’s lodged in my subconscious for a few reasons. Those words are part of a ministry piece I am currently learning, it was the last song I played before I went to bed, and I was thinking about the actual scripture in Ephesians 1 which my Bible Study has prayed over us for the last four years.

I laid there in my bed early this morning having this scripture lodged in my mind, cutting through every false perception I was holding onto. Right there in my bed at about 3:00AM, “the exceeding greatness of His power” was taking a hold of me. I lay there thinking about what I believe about the exceeding greatness of His power and as I lay there the list began to form. The power to heal, the power to save, the power to cut through doubt, the power to deliver, etc.

I woke up this morning intent on reading the prayer all the way through because I knew there was more to it that I needed to sit with. And as I read Paul’s prayer to the church of Ephesus, I claimed it for myself and realized that it isn’t just about understanding the exceeding greatness of His power, but coming to that understanding through the prerequisites set forth.

Before Paul prayed that the church of Ephesus would understand the exceeding greatness of His power, he prayed that they would receive wisdom and insight so that they might grow in their knowledge of God and then that their hearts may be flooded with light so that they could understand the confident hope He has given to those he called and then after those things they would be able to understand the exceeding greatness of His power for us who believe in Him.

But why do we have to believe in the exceeding greatness of His power? Because “this is the same mighty power that raised Christ from the dead and seated him in the place of honor at God’s right hand in the heavenly realms. Now because of this, he is far above any ruler, authority, power, leader or anything else, not only in this world but the world to come. God has put all things under the authority of Christ and has made him the head over all things for the benefit of the church. And the church is his body; it is made full and complete by Christ, who fills all things everywhere with himself.”

After all of that, could I not believe in the exceeding greatness of His power? Could you not believe in it?

1 Comment »

  1. […] greatness of His power at work within us. If there were ever a time for us to believe in the exceeding greatness of His power, this is […]

    Pingback by God’s Hand in the Recession « The Loudmouth Protestant — April 5, 2009 @ 1:06 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

