The Loudmouth Protestant

April 8, 2009

Your Role in the Crucifixion

Last night an interesting question was posed,  “If you were there during the time of Jesus’ crucifixion, what role would you have played?” Would you have been Judas, Peter, Pilate, Barrabas, Sanhedrin, Roman soldier, Simon of Cyrene, Mary Magdalene, Mary, the theif who scoffed at Jesus or the one who asked to be remembered? Those present  for the crucifixion of Jesus  are uncanny archetypes of us now.

We were there to fake the funk and sell him out for some spare change, there to judge rather than stand up for what we believed in our hearts and let him die, there to be set free when we know we didn’t deserve it, there to participate in the mocking and beating, there to carry the cross, there to sit at the cross, there to simply wait for his return.

Last night, my mind spun as I thought about who I would be then. I saw myself as Pilate, there to judge, but inevitably give Him up because the press of the crowd was overwhelming. I saw myself as Simon of Cyrene, a mere bystander who happened to be in the right place at the right time to help a righteous man finish an assignment that would atone for my sins, I saw myself as Barrabbas, wild and wooly and set free despite my past indiscretions. I could have been any of those people.

Who are you?

1 Comment »

  1. I was, and am, one of the sinners that caused his crucifixiion.

    Comment by Terry Aima — November 5, 2009 @ 2:14 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

