The Loudmouth Protestant

April 15, 2009

Quote of the Day: Lecrae

Filed under: christianity,God,music — nickisym @ 12:19 pm
Tags: ,

I’m still on my gospel hip-hop tip, particularly at this very moment because some “other” music was trying to get me caught up so I am buffetting it with gospel hip-hop, CCM, gospel and music that speaks God’s truth. Nevertheless, I’m listening to Lecrae again and one verse in his song “Send Me” stuck out.

“America ain’t Christians they just practicing the ritual.”

Lecrae “Send Me”

Usually I’d have a whole essay lined up for a statement like this, but I this time around, I’d rather let people draw their own conclusion.

1 Comment »

  1. Kind of reminds me of this Frederick Douglas quote from days gone by:

    “Between the Christianity of this land, and the Christianity of Christ, I recognized the widest possible difference–so wide, that to receive the one as good, pure, and holy, is of necessity to reject the other as bad, corrupt, and wicked. To be the friend of the one, is of necessity to be the enemy of the other. I love the pure, peacable, and impartial Christianity of Christ: I therefore hate the corrupt, slaveholding, women-whipping, cradle-plundering, partial and hypocritical Christianity of this land. Indeed, I can see no reason, but the most deceitful one, for calling the religion of this land Christianity. I look upon it as the climax of all misnomers, the boldest of frauds, and the grossest of all libels.”

    Comment by jazztheologian — April 16, 2009 @ 11:59 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

