The Loudmouth Protestant

May 22, 2009

Prayers Toward Pentecost

Filed under: prayer,spirituality — nickisym @ 2:52 pm
Tags: , ,

I happened to be poking around on Via Media, one of Beliefnet’s Catholic blogs, when I found a link to a Pentecost novena. I didn’t know what a novena was prior to that moment, but I know what Pentecost is and that was enough for me. For those who don’t know, Pentecost occurs 50 days after the resurrection and commemorates the Holy Spirit’s descent upon the church. It is considered the birthday of the church. 

My church and its various ministries is preparing for Pentecost and for me, as a member of the dance ministry, it means consecrating myself to become a vessel to be used on Pentecost in ministry. This consecration takes many forms of which prayer and fasting are a vital part. So it was perfect that I happened upon this novena.

A novena, in the Catholic church, is a body of prayers or devotions that lasts for 9 sucessive days for the purpose of obtaining special graces. When I read that, my mind was blown because one of my biggest concerns is that I truly use the next nine days to empty myself of every erroneous thing so that I can truly be a vessel set aside for God’s purposes. I need the special graces. So I continued reading through the Pentecost novenas and I felt very much drawn to the beauty of the prayers.

The novena starts with two prayers which are to be recited daily–one for the act of consecration to the Holy Spirit and one for the 7 gifts of the Holy Spirit–which are then followed by specific prayers for each day which are closed with an Our Father, a Hail Mary and 7 Glory Be’s. Now I’m not sure if I’ll do the latter part of the novenas, but I am really loving these prayers and plan to fold them into my devotion time for the next 9 days. So as part of my Catholic learning for the day, I wanted to share today’s Pentecost Novena.

Holy Spirit! Lord of Light! From Your clear celestial height, Your pure beaming radiance give!

The Holy Spirit

Only one thing is important — eternal salvation. Only one thing, therefore, is to be feared–sin· Sin is the result of ignorance, weakness, and indifference The Holy Spirit is the Spirit of Light, of Strength, and of Love. With His sevenfold gifts He enlightens the mind, strengthens the will, and inflames the heart with love of God. To ensure our salvation we ought to invoke the Divine Spirit daily, for “The Spirit helpeth our infirmity. We know not what we should pray for as we ought. But the Spirit Himself asketh for us.”

Prayer

Almighty and eternal God, Who hast vouchsafed to regenerate us by water and the Holy Spirit, and hast given us forgiveness all sins, vouchsafe to send forth from heaven upon us your sevenfold Spirit, the Spirit of Wisdom and Understanding, the Spirit of Counsel and fortitude, the Spirit of Knowledge and Piety, and fill us with the Spirit of Holy Fear. Amen.

I pray that all who are looking to these 9 days before Pentecost with expectancy would gird themselves up with prayer, whether it be of the novenas or on your own accord. Seek His face.

Be Blessed

2 Comments »

  1. […] Really Loudmouth Protestant quoting a Shaman? It was enough that you quote Thomas of Aquinas and shared a novena your Protestant self though was interesting, but Shaman???” Yeah well, I told you, I’m […]

    Pingback by Quote of the Day: Vincent Presti « The Loudmouth Protestant — May 28, 2009 @ 2:39 pm | Reply

  2. I am protestant and my wife is Catholic. On two separate occasions, we have prayed a novena. Each time,as we prayed the novena, things got worse.
    I have come to believe that novenas are a form of blasphemy. I feel God is punishing me for this blasphemy.

    Comment by Kenneth Philippi — October 29, 2009 @ 7:22 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

