The Loudmouth Protestant

June 8, 2009

Get Gone

Filed under: friends,God,life,music,relationships — nickisym @ 5:30 pm
Tags: , ,

When I was in college and my roommates heard this song blasting from my room they knew that I was on the “outs” with someone. Ideal’s “Get Gone” really resonated with me because I always felt like I gave a lot of myself to my non-relationships. (Non-relationships because none of them turned into actual relationships but took up the same amount of emotional energy as a real relationship.) I was always so open, and when I say open it isn’t just referring to being honest, but being very vulnerable and weak to the point where it would be easy for someone to take advantage of me. They took my meekness for weakness and admittedly, I was both, so I used this song to give me the courage to let people go–even if it was only in my mind.

But this song came back to me this morning because I realize I am no longer equipped to give people a fighting chance with me because there is too much at stake. I’ve come across people, who as a very dear friend put it, “want my substance, but don’t want me.” And this is discouraging because I’m operating in the same fashion as I was back in college, giving people the best that I got and getting nothing in return. The only difference is, this time, I’m not weak and I am meek for the benefit of my exchanged life.  My exchanged life entitles me to more than a fly-by-night relationship or fair-weather friend. The author of my exchanged life is the friend who sticks closer than a brother, so why would I need anyone who is less than that? The author of my exchanged life is always on time, so why would I need someone who only knows how to call when they need something from me? The author of my exchanged life cares about the issues of my life, loves me unconditionally, listens even when I’m not talking and is with me everywhere that I go; so why would I need anyone who doesn’t care about the issues of my life, only deigns to like me when it’s convenient, doesn’t listen when I talk or dares to put a time limit on how long they are capable of listening, and is nowhere that I go? I can’t, we can’t, grant people access to our lives who only know how to be part-time lovers and fair-weather friends. We have to know our limits and as such, we must have peace about every relationship, friendship, partnership or any other ‘ship we enter into. And if you don’t have peace about it, you have to say, “Get Gone.”

1 Comment »

  1. The funniest thing about that song was when they said “Gets to Steppin”. But that’s the truth. It’s kind of cliche when everyone goes around talking about getting rid of ‘toxic people’ Hey, some of us might be toxic ourselves. But when it comes down to it, it makes good sense. When life is short and good friends are abound, why do we keep people that mistreat us?

    Comment by Kai — June 8, 2009 @ 5:47 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

