The Loudmouth Protestant

June 10, 2009

What Is God Better Than?

Filed under: christianity,music — nickisym @ 10:13 pm
Tags: , ,

Just about every day within the past few weeks I’ve managed to find a new favorite song. I’m what some people might call a promiscuous music lover. I hop from song to song as the feeling arises and though I may state loving a song or album on one week, by the next I’m on to the next shiny disc–and yes, I still like purchasing CDs, I need liner notes. Anyways, that is neither here or there in this post. The song I discovered today is Skillet’s “Better Than Drugs”. 

For those of you unfamiliar with the group, as I was mere days before listening to their album “Comatose”, they are a Christian rock group who sounds kind of like Good Charlotte (in my humble opinion). Anyways, their CD is one that is totally rocking my face off, much like Decyfer Down’s was last week. So the song, “Better Than Drugs”, is all about how Jesus is better than, well, drugs. I loved the song so much when I heard it that I had to replay it about 5 times in a row.

“You’re better than drugs, your love is like wine, feel you comin’ on so fast, feel you comin’ on to get me high. You’re better than drugs, addicted for life, feel you comin’ on so fast, feel you comin’ on to get me high.”

In thinking about the song some more, I started thinking about the things that I believe God is better than. I could easily say drugs, but I’ve never tried drugs so that’d be unfair–this is not to say any of the members of Skillet have, but I’m gathering that their target audience is tempted by drugs more than me.  

So what do I think God is better than? Cupcakes, Tostitos Bite Size Tortilla chips, vintage dresses, plantains, cheeseburgers, broccoli, books, Gossip Girl, The Game, anything on television really, my Blackberry, my insecurities, this blog, my best thoughts, my worst days, the list is endless. Would it be too trite to say he’s better than everything? Because he is.

What do you think God is better than?

 



1 Comment »

  1. God is better than new shoes! Waaaaaaaayyyy better!

    Comment by Cleo — June 25, 2009 @ 10:22 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

