The Loudmouth Protestant

August 7, 2009

Rest in Peace John Hughes

Filed under: entertainment,movies,recent news — nickisym @ 12:30 pm
Tags: , ,

I’m not huge on knowing directors by name and to be honest, when I found out John Hughes died yesterday, I wasn’t entirely sure who he was. That is, until someone told me he was the director of every single awesome 80s movie saw and loved. “Ferris Bueller’s Day Off”, “Pretty in Pink”, “The Breakfast Club”, “Weird Science”, “National Lampoon’s European Vacation”, “National Lampoon’s Vacation” and my absolute favorite, “Sixteen Candles.”

So now that I know him by name and have apparently always known his work, I do know he will be greatly missed. He ushered an entire generation into the 80s in pop style. I wanted to be a teenager in the 80s because of him. I loved Matthew Broderick because of him. I thought Ducky should have a chance because of him. I wanted to go on ridiculously random family vacations because of him. I wanted the fairytale ending of sitting on top of a table with a candle-lit cake and my crush in front of me because of him. I wanted to be left “Home Alone” because of him. I wanted this 80s life that I couldn’t otherwise have because I was a little black girl growing up in Laurelton/Rosedale/Jamaica, New York because of him.

John Hughes made the 80s cool and this 80s baby loves him for it. Rest in peace John Hughes and blessings of comfort to your family in their time of mourning.

A trailer from one of my favorite John Hughes’ films:

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

