The Loudmouth Protestant

August 14, 2009

Biblical Justification for Non-Morning People

Filed under: life,randomness — nickisym @ 9:58 am
Tags: ,

In my older age, day by day, I am realizing that I’m not a morning person. I could run the list for why I am not, but it’s easily indicated by asking anyone I work with or live with. In the morning when I get up and the first face I see is not my own, I’m not tempted to speak because my eyes are barely open wide enough to see nor my mouth prepared to speak. But more than that, when I’m in the office and a colleague comes in all bright eyed and bushy tailed I just want to throttle the person or just throttle myself. And beyond that, I just find that I can’t be prepared to speak or be nice in the morning until I’ve had a good little talk with Jesus. But sadly, even then, mornings feel unbearable. So to strengthen my argument for not being a morning person I found a nice little scripture.

Proverbs 27:14 (New Living Translation)

A loud and cheerful greeting early in the morning will be taken as a curse!

I receive that, I really do. I think God is telling me there is justification for not being a morning person or at least not being equally cheery as the bright-eyed bushy-tailed morning people that walk around with the loud and cheerful greetings. What do you think? Can a follower of Christ not be a morning person? I think I know the answer to the question, but humor me.

1 Comment »

  1. Being a Christian doesn’t mean you have to be jipper 100% of the time..or maybe that’s just my rationalization because I’m not a morning person either.

    Comment by Kai — August 14, 2009 @ 10:42 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

