The Loudmouth Protestant

October 2, 2009

All I Have Is This Day

Filed under: God,life — nickisym @ 8:00 am
Tags: ,

You’ve heard people say, “Tomorrow’s not promised.” But have you ever stopped to think that it really isn’t? There is no guarantee that you will wake up tomorrow. Even if you make it through an entire day and rest your head on a pillow tonight, a million things could happen that could take your life in an instant. Your home could catch on fire in the middle of the night. There could be a poisonous gas leak. You could randomly stop breathing. The possibilities are endless.

Despite all of this, we still go forward with making plans for the weekend, the week ahead, the month ahead and even the year. I know because I do it. Within the past few months I have been thinking about my future. I have been putting together a master plan of things I want to do in the next year or so. I have been planning my work and attempting to work my plan, but at the same time, I get overwhelmed with all the possibilities, overwhelmed at the thought of failing, overwhelmed at the thought of making drastic changes, overwhelmed at the uncertainties of the future. I talk to my mom about the things on my mind concerning my future and things that I want to do and I get exasperated and stressed out just talking about it. In mom-like fashion she calmly tells me, “Just take it one day at a time.” And she is right, one day at a time is all I can do. But in addition to the practical step by step approach I think about a scripture in James 4:13-16:

“Look here, you who say, ‘Today or tomorrow we are going to a certain town and will stay there for a year. We will do business there and make a profit. How do you know what your life will be like tomorrow? Your life is like the morning fog–it’s here a little while, then it’s gone. What you ought to say is, ‘If the Lord wants us to, we will live and do this or that.’ Otherwise you are boasting about your own plans, and all such boasting is evil.”

Remembering this, I am not tempted to get anxious about the future, because I remember that it all rests in God’s hands. He only wants for me to trust him day to day and listen closely for His instructions for my next move. I can only take it one day at a time. And with God, I will take it one day at a time because after all tomorrow is not promised and all I have is today. All I have is today to live and move and have my being. All I have is today to follow Him. All I have is today to be the best I can be. I’ll never know for sure if I can accomplish every goal I set forth. It’s not for me to know and I’m okay with that. From this day forth, I promise myself not to stress out about the future and just live for today. With God, present with Him, on this the day He has made.

Trust God with your today and don’t worry about tomorrow.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

