The Loudmouth Protestant

October 14, 2009

Quote of the Day: Joyce Meyer

“You’ll never get what you want if you can’t be happy for someone else who gets it.” Joyce Meyer on Spiritual Maturity

This was what I walked away with halfway into listening to Joyce Meyer’s sermon on Spiritual Maturity. No sooner than I stepped out of my house and landed on the train platform, did I have the chance to apply my learning.

You see, I live in a neighborhood full of young professionals and with that comes a handful of good-looking young professional men. But, since I am shy and still follow my parents edict never to talk to strangers–unless somehow I feel really compelled and/or had some liquid courage–I never talk to any of these good-looking young professional men. They just keep passing me by. Anyways, this morning, I saw my neighborhood crush standing there in all his autumnal glory. He has an affinity for earth tones and today he really went in with his different shades of brown including a newsboy cap–got to love a man in a hat.

I stood there admiring him from the moment I stepped onto the platform, to riding the train to the next stop, getting off and trailing him to the next train–I wasn’t stalking him, we really do ride the same set of trains–and then the music stopped. A young lady who I also see frequently approached him as we he was walking down the stairs and said, “Hey, you were the one I saw down on Wall Street yesterday, right?” He said, “No.” She said, “Oh”. And from there she continued to run her mouth. With each step of my trailing this new subway connection I became discouraged. I thought to myself, “That was so easy, why didn’t you think of that?” Well, I never thought to make such a move because it would have been disingenuous as I have never seen him anywhere but my neighborhood. Anyways, Chatty Cathy kept talking to him and didn’t let up and even as we approached the trains that would take us to our real destination she said, “Oh, which train are you taking?” She proceeded to walk with him in the direction of his point and kept talking.

I don’t know what will end up happening with Chatty Cathy and Earth Tones. He might have been overwhelmed by her chattiness or turned on by her assertiveness. Either way she put her foot in the game. She did more than I ever did and I’ve been watching this guy for like a year now like Alicia Keys watched Mos Def at the coffee shop in “You Don’t Know My Name” or maybe how she watched Swizz until Mashonda stepped away.

Moral of the story is, that young lady went for hers and hers was something I would have liked to have but slept on. So, I have no choice but to celebrate her win and be happy for her because one day I hope to have or a least grasp something similar. At the end of the day, I must be happy for what she got because it is something that I want one day too. Here’s to being happy for other people’s successes. Who will you be happy for today?

2 Comments »

  1. lol….soo funny and genuine. i’ll join the don’t hate revolution, although i never was the type but i’ll be more aware to congratulate.

    Comment by chin — October 23, 2009 @ 9:49 am | Reply

  2. Stunning, I did not know about that till now. Thx!!

    Comment by Layevence — December 10, 2009 @ 7:30 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

