The Loudmouth Protestant

October 15, 2009

Living this Day Just to Hear Two Words

This morning as I was riding the train to work I was listening to one of my favorite songs by gospel artist Tye Tribbett. The song is entitled, “Well Done” and it is about living a life just to hear God say “Well Done.” Tribbett repeatedly says he wants to live his whole life just to hear two words, “Well Done.”

I meditated on that for a while and thought about the implications of living such a life. It is my hope to live such a life and I want to live such a life that will result in God telling me, “Well done my good and faithful servant.”  But how can I focus on living a life to hear those two words when I know tomorrow’s not promised? Therefore, all I can control, in terms of living the “Well Done” life, is living a “Well Done” day.  

Days are all I have even when I know that tomorrow is not promised. But as long as God gives me the breath of life for yet one more day, I promise myself to live it for Him and live it like at the end of the day I know He is going to tally up my every thought, word, and deed and say, “Well Done” or “You Could Have Done Better.” This brings to mind a quote that I often hear people say and refer to as one of their favorites, “Live each day as if it were your last.” Well, today could be your last day, so while you are living life to the fullest, remember that at the end of the day, your every action, those seen and unseen, will all be accounted for by God. Live this day just to hear two words, “Well Done”.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

